Is it Worth the Trouble to Make Lump

jeffreywp1

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
I do woodwork for a living and have access to unlimited wood scraps, mostly soft maple. I have in the past just used it as is for charcoal to grill, and for fuel for smoker. As charcoal, it burn out fast. But since I usually grill hot and fast it does ok for that purpose. Is it worth the trouble to make it into lump just for a longer burn?

Charcoal is wood that has had impurities driven out to make it hotter, take up less volume, and less weight. I always relate charcoal to seasoned wood as grain alcohol to 80-proof whiskey (wine would be considered a comparison to green wood). So the answer is, what do you need? If the scraps are not "burn worthy" but is compact enough to make charcoal then sure, why not? Remember you will use energy to make charcoal so you won't get as much BTUs out as what you put into it but that is more up to you. I have to think that making charcoal on your level is like making your own beer. You can because you enjoy it but there is some damn fine stuff out there so you don't do it because you're getting a better final product. JMHO

Absolutely worth it, Why not? I'm gonna use a 30 gallon and 55 gallon one to make some as soon as i secure a 30 gallon barrel.

No, unless you have spare time

how much time does it take you to make it?

takes me about 1/2 hr, to cut the wood and stuff the barrels and get it burning

then its just keeping an eye on it while doing other things.

and the result is better than any store bought lump I have tried. No popping, or fireworks.

just a good, hot, clean burn from leftover junk wood I have on my property

how can you beat that?

and the result is better than any store bought lump I have tried. No popping, or fireworks.

how can you beat that?

I don't have the property but have hardwood trees galore in neighborhood that i might as well start collecting the fallen branches from for that purpose.