Perfect Day Off - Asian/American Tri-Tip Crostini (too much pRon)

TonyT

is one Smokin' Farker
I work in a hospital, so it can be hard to get days off with my friends; but when we do, we make the most of it!

No way this is going to be a bad day. Butt crack of dawn bike ride together.

Then back to my place to get started on my very first throwdown. Rules: be a noob and part of everything should touch fire. Looks like I qualify :thumb: . Started off making my first loaf of bread (yea, dough looks sad, but was really tasty).

Get some garlic ready with some olive oil, S&P

More veggies

With fire

Into a zip lock bag for 20-30min, skin peeled and marinaded in a mix of olive oil, balsalmic and lemon juice

Did I mention there's meat?

and the garlic

There was much debate as to how it should be built. In our thought process went:

Bread needs fire... and butter... and garlic

Needs meat

IMG_4945_zpsv5q7dgt5.jpg

Veggies

Vietnamese cole slaw "Goi": cabbage, water, vinegar, sugar, the roasted garlic to keep with the grill theme (usually raw garlic is used), cilantro and some dill I had in the fridge

More meat... because it's more meat!

The rest

Oh yea, assembled this new toy while waiting on food

4 weeks of over time and on call hours... I seriously needed a great off day with friends and Q. If you made it this far, I'm impressed!

Thanks guys! Like I said, I feel really lucky to have days like this.

And in case anyone else caught it, I just remembered that bell peppers are fruits lol

Glad you enjoyed your day,
The food looks delish
If you blend one of them peppers with some garlic and olive you have a perfect sauce for your pizzas

Surprised you're ale to go back to work after a day off like that. Love this thread like already mentioned.

Wow! an impressive and tasty looking post. not one thing on the plate I would't dive into.

Ok that looks and sounded so good, think I want to leave retirement, and go back to work, just so I can take a day off to do this. ;)