Which rib roast to buy?

tjtv

Found some matches.
I want to make a rib roast on my vision kamado for Christmas Eve. I've never done one on the smoker before, so I'm looking forward to it.

Shoprite(my local supermarket) has three different rib roasts on sale. You can see the flyer here:
http://plan.shoprite.com/Circular/ShopRite-of-Branchburg/B38C765/Weekly/3/2

1)Beef, Bone-In, Center Cut, USDA Choice Prime Rib Roast for $4.99/lb
2)Beef Rib, Center Cut, Bone-In Certified Angus Beef® Rib Roast for $6.99/lb
3)All Natural, Free Range, Grass Fed, Nature’s Reserve Boneless Beef Rib Eye Roast for $4.99/lb

I'm sure that they are all fine pieces of meat, but I'm not sure which to go with. How is grass fed ribeye, will it be less marbled than the other choices? Since the price per pound is the same for the grass fed boneless vs the regular bone-in it seems like I'd be getting more meat for the money by buying the boneless.

If I decide to go for bone-in, what about the difference between the regular and the angus? Is it worth the extra $2 per pound?

Or ultimately is this more about going to the supermarket and carefully looking at all of the pieces of meat to find the best loooking marbled cut?

Sorry to jack on your thread but I am from Hunterdon county and have not heard about ShopRite since I moved to the Midwest (Missouri).

The term "Angus" doesn't mean much to me. It's the grade of beef that I look for; prime, choice, etc. not worth an extra $2.00 a pound, IMHO.

Just my 2 cents.

I want to make a rib roast on my vision kamado for Christmas Eve. I've never done one on the smoker before, so I'm looking forward to it.

Shoprite(my local supermarket) has three different rib roasts on sale. You can see the flyer here:
http://plan.shoprite.com/Circular/ShopRite-of-Branchburg/B38C765/Weekly/3/2

1)Beef, Bone-In, Center Cut, USDA Choice Prime Rib Roast for $4.99/lb
2)Beef Rib, Center Cut, Bone-In Certified Angus Beef® Rib Roast for $6.99/lb