THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RemoGaggi

Full Fledged Farker
Name or Nickame
RemoGaggi
The inner need to get something new is on the attack again. I should know better, but I am asking for help here.

We don't entertain much anymore, kids are out of the house, and my wife is basically an non-factor with meats. So I'm not cooking any large quantities often.

I have an old Mak 1-Star (#69) that I reserve for the overnight brisket cooks and I just like to use it for something small. I've been using a GMG Davy Crocket for the last several years, but it's become old and leaky (grease) and I can't seem to get it sealed back up - very annoying. I've definitely gotten my money's worth out of the GMG DC. It still works, but I think if I get the PK, I'm selling it.

On the charcoal side, I've a Red Box Smoker that I've been messing around with. The love/hate relationship with that continues. I recently sold my 26" Weber with SnS as it was just too big for my needs and I literally didn't use it once in 2020. I do have a little Lodge Sportsman which I use for skewers and a steak or two, but it's really too small (and no lid) for anything else.

So, since I sold my 26" Weber, I've been kicking around the idea of the PK Original, which I can add a few bucks and get a PK Original. I can't justify getting a PK360 or even the PKTX (although that would be nice). The PK Original seems like it would be a good fit, but am I just chasing my tail here or should I just resist the urge and hope this "want" of a new grill pass? Can anyone help a brother out?