Stick Burner for Central Texas BBQ

dsp2

Full Fledged Farker
Hey, everyone. I'm planning a trip to Austin and have, as a side benefit, become obsessed with reading about Central Texas Q. Looking to hit a few of the famous joints, I've been reading tons of stuff here and at amazing ribs and I'm working through Aaron Franklin's book, and I'm now reading up on various pits.

I've been cooking on a WSM, a few BGEs, Kettles, a Portable Kitchen, and a couple others I never use for many years. I have a lot of experience but I'm still definitely what you'd call an amateur and a hobbyist. I turn out some good Q on my good days, but I also have a crazy non-Q related job, demanding wife and kid, relatively small yard, etc.

I'm reading about how stick burners burning clean all wood fires with optimal draft/airflow is the most classic way to cook Central Texas BBQ. Looking at options for these, I'm seeing the Old Country Smoker that Franklin used in his PBS show/youtube videos or the model above it for $399 or $499.

I've also gone off the deep end (for me) and have started looking at the Yoder Cheyenne.

Long winded question - do you think it's worth picking up a relatively inexpensive stick burner like the Old Country to play around with and to complement my other cookers? Or do you think it would be too much hassle? I think I understand the argument about smoke from a clean burning all wood fire vs. smoldering chunks on top of charcoal. I also understand that the offset is less efficient and will require a wood pile or whatever and is a little harder to control temps on than, say, the BGE or WSM.

I would need a bigger push to invest in something like the yoder (like if I have some transcendental Q on my trip, maybe I'll come home and simply have to buy one :) )