THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Buckshot Malone

Knows what a fatty is.
I usually trim all my meat on location at the comp. For those guys/gals that trim at home prior to comp, how do you "repackge" the meat (if you don't have a food saver/sealer)? What do you use? I'm going to try get more done at home and looking for suggestions.

Thanks.

JH

0007169117485_P255045_500X500.jpg

Thighs and ribs fit well in these. They fit right into the cooler I use for meat. We happen to have these at home, so that is what I use. I'm just an amateur comp guy, though.

Chicken I normally vac seal with the foam tray and I wrap the skins in layers of plastic wrap. The other meats I just wrap in several layers of wide plastic wrap. It is cheap and quick and more than adequate to hold them in the fridge a day or two. Once it is wrapped it goes into lined hotel pans and into my second (commercial) fridge. I transport in the cambro with ice packs and ziplock bags of ice, so I never have to worry about it getting water logged. If you are going to throw it in a cooler on loose ice, you might want to vac seal.

I like using 2 1/2 gallon ziplocks found at "select" wal-marts. I don't go to wally world much but if I see them, I'll buy as much I can.

We buy the large or XL ziplock storage bags that you can find in the storage/organization isles of Lowes/HD or Walmart. They are the large blue ones. The XL will fit my butts, and briskets just fine. The LG fits ribs and is overkill for chicken but saves time for using something different.

If you are willing to splurge on a foodsaver, I would get one :).