Offset Convection plate and brisket fat side

harrybbq

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Haroldo
I'm not trying to start a debate of fat side up vs down for brisket. However, having said that, I do believe there is a correct side depending on the cooker.

In my opinion, the fat side should always point towards the heat source (just my opinion, for a bunch of reasons).

In my BGE XL, fat side down for sure.
I am new to offsets., I just purchased a 20 inch Horizon Classic a couple of weeks ago. As far as I understand, on a typical offset with smoke stack up on top (as opposed to near the grate level), the heat rises as it exits the fire box, then travels mostly horizontally towards the other end, and exits through the smoke stack. With this in mind, it makes complete sense to me that fat side should be up, since that's the surface along which heat will travel the most.

Now this is my question. Its a small smoker with 36 inch long cooking chamber (20 inch wide). The hot spot near the fire box takes up too much real state, so I purchased a heat convection plate from Horizon, which has small holes near the fire box and gradually increasing diameter holes towards the center of the chamber.
With the plate installed, would I be right to assume that heat now will no longer rise immediately after it exits the fire box,so it will heat the brisket mostly from below as it rises more evenly through the convection plate ?
If that is correct, that would mean, to me, that fat side now should be down, like in the kamado.

Thoughts?

Last edited:
I have an Old Country Brazos that has exhaust at grate level and use the charcoal grate as a convection plate, the heat definitely comes from the bottom. Therefore I always cook fat side down.

I think intensity of heat matters for this equation. For example in the backwoods I had the heat actually enters then chamber from the top of the cooker, but I would always cook fat down and it worked awesome.