Need an idea for a Wedding Rehearsal BBQ

davidf

Hi All. I've been smoking for a few years - never as often as I'd like however. Work seems to get in the way.
My son is getting married next May. He and his wife want a low key wedding. The reception is being catered - focus on pulled pork and chicken - with the sides.
For his rehearsal dinner he wants to put something on the smoker with dad (I'm feeling really good about now!!).
He thinks there will be about 40 people at this dinner (lots of out-of-towners).

So the big question - what to smoke? Pork and chicken on wedding day so we're thinking beef of some sort.
Brisket? Clod? And how many lbs would i need to smoke to feed 40'ish people?
I'm open to all opinions, suggestions. Include rubs if you have something you like.
Thanks in advance.

If it is going to be the only protein, plan on 1# raw weight per adult. Briskets around here tend to average 14# so you're looking at 3 briskets.

Oakridge BBQ Black Ops rub is amazing on brisket, or you could just go with the Texas standard of salt and pepper.

I'd do brisket and then apps. Pork belly burnt ends, bacon wrapped jalapeno thingies/Atomic buffalo turds. Salmon is always great too on cedar planks and tri-tip is another good option for protein.

BBQ two days in a row would be too much for me. Not saying it would be for you or the crowd you got coming, but something to consider maybe.

For my brothers supper we just grilled a bunch of burgers and hot dogs in the back yard. Had any and all fixings, and set up a build your own burger or dog bar.... Shrimp cocktails, salads, tons of chips and dips also, I thought it was great. Also, manning the grill could save you from some boring conversations perhaps. :-D

They have a point, plus what if your BBQ turns out better than the catered BBQ...