Lean baby back ribs

PandaMechanic

Found some matches.
Name or Nickame
Chris
I'm pretty new to smoking and bbq so I've got a pretty basic question. What are your tricks for lean or lower grade cuts? I cooked some baby back ribs that were pretty lean and ended up pretty dry before hitting the proper temperature, I go for probe tender around 190-200 degrees. I've done the same cook with st louis style ribs and they turned out great I'm guessing because of the high fat content. What are some of your tips for leaner cuts where they don't have a lot of fat naturally? Thanks!

What temp and time did you smoke the ribs at?
Not sure why you'd want temp ribs. Kind of hard to get a real good reading of the actual temp. Since they can be so thin. Going probe tender should be much more accurate to your liking.
Depending on what babybacks you buy. Some are enhanced/brined in package. Some are not.
Not sure around your area. But here, I can get them from #1 1/2 upto #3.
The lower weight ribs typically, not always are from younger pigs.
1.75 would be a good average size/weight babyback. The #3 lbers are thick like porkchops. If that makes sense.
Here we have 1.5, 1.75, 2, 2.25 at most places that carry more than one size/weight.
Hope that helps.

IMO probe tender on ribs is kind of hard, since the meat is generally thin and there's bones involved. I rely on the "bend test" for mine...basically pick up the slab with tongs supporting about half the slab with the tongs, and if the slab bends > 45* and you start seeing some splitting in the meat fibers then they're about perfect.

If they were "dry" and not falling off the bone then they were probably undercooked. They'd have to be really really overcooked to the point of jerky to be dry and overcooked, IME.

I too like the smaller slabs of baby backs that weigh 2lbs or so...in the 3lb neighborhood they have too much loin meat on them for my liking.

So...you....you had 'lean back baby' back ribs!