Inlet Fan Location on Cabinet Smoker Controller

HogFan

is one Smokin' Farker
I must admit I haven't logged into this forum for a long time but this is where I learned to smoke on my UDS and I've made lots of good briskets and pork butt since.

I found a used stainless, double walled, insulated gas smoker in great shape and bought it planning to convert it to use charcoal, not gas. I have no experience with a cabinet smoker.

On my UDS I've wondered what percentage of the air blown inside the drum by the controller fan actually feeds the fire in the charcoal basket heating the drum vs what percentage bypasses the charcoal basket so actually cools the drum? Blowing ambient temperature air into the 250F drum would cool it, no? If a significant percentage of the inlet air is cooling instead of heating the drum, there is a lot of room for improvement.

Considering this, on the cabinet smoker I'm converting, could it be an improvement to run an air inlet pipe from the fan all the way under the charcoal basket and add a 90 degree fitting to direct air upwards into the charcoal basket? Maybe with this configuration a higher percentage of the air from the fan would feed the burning charcoal and less air would bypass the charcoal basket actually cooling the smoke chamber. Thoughts?

No one has tried extending the fresh air inlet pointing it directly at the charcoal basket on a UDS? The results should be the same in a cabinet smoker as in a drum. Maybe I should try it and report the results. Who knows, it might improve ash management...or cause ash to drift into the smoke chamber (yikes!).

Last edited:
I have an older BBQ Guru I use on my BGEs and the adaptor fits right into the track on the lower vent. So basically it just assists the natural draw of the cooker. I can adjust the damper on the fan housing itself to keep everything in check. A few years later I bought an adaptor for my drum, but they run so well on their own I've never installed it.