THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

bwram1

is one Smokin' Farker
Seasoned the new Smokehouse on Wednesday for 3 hours in the 300 to 350 range.
STL ribs went on at the 3 hour mark...since I'm just learning the new Smokehouse, I did something I haven't done in a few years...I wrapped them. They were seasoned with Rufus Teague meat rub, and sauced with Blues Hog original. A while later, I whipped up a batch of my beans...a much smaller batch than I usually make. Since I eyeball everything and measure nothing, I hoped they'd come out alright.
Also bought a cheap sausage and hung it...no way I was gonna use the good stuff, Conecuh Spicy & Hot, on my first cook. ��

Wife likes her ribs saucey...I like a light glaze...I'll let you determine who won that battle, based on the pic of the finished ribs. :sad:

Here's the kicker...
I went from seasoning straight into the cook...literally tossed in the ribs at the 3 hour mark. I seasoned with an empty water pan. I ran the cook with it empty...wasn't about to start adding hose water into a water pan sitting on the mid-300s. Because of that, it was interesting keeping the cooker under 290...I set my Hi-Lo at 260-290...target range of 275. All in all, it wasn't that difficult to maintain.
Of course, future cooks will have water in the pan.

Attachments

• 5D5Nho8.jpg
    5D5Nho8.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 341
  • H8ORoMF.jpg
    H8ORoMF.jpg
    88.7 KB · Views: 340
  • 1fBLrY1.jpg
    1fBLrY1.jpg
    47.2 KB · Views: 342
  • L7nwwl1.jpg
    L7nwwl1.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 343
  • OkxgsZA.jpg
    OkxgsZA.jpg
    87 KB · Views: 341
  • ldq9EQv.jpg
    ldq9EQv.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 342
  • PNEAvVk.jpg
    PNEAvVk.jpg
    96.2 KB · Views: 340
  • LTmqk7V.jpg