Dyna-glo SIGNATURE SERIES Heavy Duty vertical offset smoker?

cjomanche

Hi everyone, newbie here. I'm sorry if this question has been asked a million times, but I have had my eyes on a particular smoker for a little while and I'm pretty close to pulling the trigger on it. Just wanted to get the opinions on some experienced folks before I throw down the cash.

[ame]https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06W5R4XTQ/ref=asc_df_B06W5R4XTQ5143609/?tag=hyprod-20&creative=394997&creativeASIN=B06W5R4XTQ&linkCode=df0&hvadid=198091107028&hvpos=1o2&hvnetw=g&hvrand=11909296173485591731&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9031042&hvtargid=pla-348524388136[/ame]

I've read some discussion on the regular Dyna-glo model but this one seems to have thicker metal and is rated a lot higher than the other one. In fact, this is one of the best reviewed smokers I've seen in this price range. I know well enough to stay away from horizontal offsets in this price range, but assuming this one doesn't leak too badly (and I could probably fix a bit with heat tape), a vertical offset seems to negate the main problem with the horizontal offsets (being that heat and smoke go up, not sideways).

I have been using a mini-WSM for a few years with good-to-great results, but I am ready to step up to something bigger and better.

What do you think? Seems like a decent unit for the price. Is there something better I should be looking at? I was also considering a Pit Barrel cooker, but I like the idea of an offset because I'd like to try stickburning at some point.

Thanks guys

Hey,

I actually bought and assembled this model this past weekend. Admittedly I have little experience w/ smokers (I have tended more toward rotisserie/roasters vs the traditional smoking in the past).

In looking, I liked this model b/c it had thicker steel than the non-signature version of the dyna-glo offsent vertical smoker.