Building a table for my big joe+jr - need advice on strength

CakeM1x

is Blowin Smoke!
Edit: No longer need help with the load bearing issue with 2x4s. My main concern now is making this so it doesn't start on fire. I was thinking fire brick under the kamado joe with the feet for an air gap and then at least an inch around the table town cut out for the joes. I was planning on enclosing the walls below the table top. Will that be sufficient? Don't want my house to burn down.

The bones of the table are going to look like the table below. My dilemma is are 2x4s strong enough to hold the big joe and jr on the sides? The table is going to be 76" wide so the cedar is spanning about 70". The big joe is 250 and the jr is 70ish lbs. I am going to use red western cedar. I'm having a helluva time looking for cedar board strength. I highlighted 2 of the 4 2x4s I am talking about. Any advice would be great, thanks!

2ce6pvt.jpg

Last edited:
I'm not an engineer so take my advice with a grain of salt but I would probably use 4x4 for those long horizontal supports. I have a slightly smaller table for my Large BGE and I used 2x4 pressure treated pine for the horizontals covered with 1x4 cedar so it looks nice.
My table runs about 4' from side to side. 70" seems like a long distance to have to eggs on a cedar 2x4...

^Those 2 tables are using just 4x4s for the legs like I was planning to do and 2x4s for the span. I should be good with just the 2x4s since the jr is really only an extra 70lbs and mine won't have granite like a lot of people are doing.

And according to the sag calculator it can easily hold 500 lbs. It's borderline at 1200lbs. So according to this 2x4s would work but maybe I'll put the extra cost and go 4x4. Hmmm

11946j5.jpg

^Those 2 tables are using just 4x4s for the legs like I was planning to do and 2x4s for the span. I should be good with just the 2x4s since the jr is really only an extra 70lbs and mine won't have granite like a lot of people are doing.