Big Easy - Oil Less Turkey Fryer Tips

Trailer Trash

is one Smokin' Farker
I see that a number of th Brethren have acquired the Big Easy Turkey Fryer thru the holidays so I thought I'd share some tips and recipe of what I believe is the best turkey I've ever had. I feel I am a novice as I only cook turkey thru the holiday season (unlike barbecue) so I don't get near the practice. This year I went over board and did six turkeys (I have two Big Easy's).

Tips;

- To keep your Big Easy looking new inside and out and make cleanup easier, remove the big internal can/bucket from the cooker and place it upside down onto a sheet of aluminum foil. Trace and cut the foil to the diameter of the large can. Drop the aluminum foil down to the floor of the can and poke a hole in the center to allow the turkey juices and fats to exit the can as it was designed to do. This keeps the juices from baking hard onto the internal floor and will not in any way disrupt the design of the cooking process.

- I have a hard time removing the bottom juice/grease drawer and getting the juices into a cooking container for gravey without spilling hot juices everywhere (our wiener dog is not happy about this fix). I remove the drawer. The distance between the three legs are wide enough to put 2.5 inch "Half Hotel Pan" under the drip hole. I lay an "aluminum throw away half pan" into the "solid aluminum half pan" and poke a 1/2 inch hole into the center of the top through away pan. The reason for the top pan is to keep unwanted blowing leaves, dirt etc. from getting into the saved juices. I'm sure you could also use a sheet of foil on top of the bottom pan as well. Just create a slight funnel to the center and poke a hole. You could probably use a cast iron pan as well instead of the solid aluminum hotel pan. It is a cinch to lift the Big Easy onto and off of this setup. You can then use the pan to cook your gravey in as well.

Recipe;