BBQ Logging and Brisket Analytics

toddcc1

I think it's great to see all the "1st Brisket" cook questions. The reply information is even better and fairly consistent. Rather than reply to each one, I thought I'd begin a thread discussing the entire process of logging your cooks. Searching "log" turns up quite a variety, so I'll go with "logging".

I'd like to share the importance of logging your cooks. I too learned via the threads, but also by a tremendous amount of trial and error. Every time I do a brisket, I share that it's about a $1,500 dollar piece of meat, as that's how much brisket was ruined trying to get it right. I also logged each and every cook. I'm a data scientist, so the data was of interest to me. Every hour I logged the cooker temp, probe at grate temp and middle of flat temp. I also logged if I spritzed, added wood and what grate the meat was on. After 15 brisket specific cooks, I finally was able to repeat with extreme accuracy the duration, times and taste that was acceptable to me and more importantly to others. Now, I'm no judge, but I think I know when I've ruined a brisket.

What I've learned:

The quality of the meat matters more than I originally thought. After 4 cooks, I sought out and established a relationship with a local distributor that carried Creekstone Farms briskets. Not that I advocate them over any other, but you can see the coloring difference in CF briskets vs. the CAB briskets I had been using. At this point I made a choice to only use CF briskets. It helped that I was getting them at about $4/lb. direct from the distributor. Even within the CF brisket boxes they had, I began to find the ones with the thickest fat cap on the flat and would test them by bending them from end to end, checking for pliability. If there was any strain in bending them, I wouldn't select it. I also became sensitive to the package date. If it was 50 days, I would age it another 8 in my own fridge, prior to the cook.

Rubs: