Bad Butt

paulheels

Reaction score
I just cooked a Butt from Kroger. Probably one of the most disappointed pulled porks I have ever cooked. So disappointing I am posting about it. I am not a beginner at this either, I have cooked ALOT of pork. so this is nothing new to me. I pulled at 196, rested for app an hr. when I began to pull, it sure as hell didnt pull like it spose too. I really attribute this to the meat, I had to take a double take of the meat when I was prepping, something about it didnt seem right. It was purchased from Kroger, the first time I have ever bought butt from there, just grabbed it when I got a loin.
My conclusion, this was a poor piece of meat.

Paul

Last time I checked out Ribs at Krogers, the packaging disclosed that it was injected with liquids and additives. Wondering if youve still got the label, and if same thing with the shoulders

Well the label said bone In. I knew before I picked it up there was no bone. and there sure wasn't one. I do not recall it being in a brine.
It's just so weird. I know it's nothing I did, so it makes me never want to buy meat from there. Luckily I have three real good places I get my meat from. This just so happened to be a quickie stop.

Could it have been the picnic which usually takes longer to cook? Also, I cook until they are tender to the probe, not to some specific temperature. Was the bone loose?

Never bought a picnic at Krogers, but (again) had almost same experience the 2 times I bought pork ribs there.

I've bought plenty of butts at Food4Less/Ralphs (Kroger), never had one problem. I wonder what the issue was with yours. Enhanced? Anyone get sick?

No one is sick. Not sure if it was enhanced, def not flavored.

The double take, the package said bone in, it wasn't. The butt wasn't cut like it had been boned either. The meat was fine, it wasn't spoiled. The cut didn't seem right.

you undercooked it. Dont go by temp, go by feel.

When a probe slides in close to the bone easily, its done.