Jack and apple juice for sprayin'

Capt ron

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I've heard on forums about using Jack and apple juice for sprayin'... What is the ratio apple juice to Jack? What would it be best for beef?
Capt Ron

I've heard on forums about using Jack and apple juice for sprayin'... What is the ratio apple juice to Jack? What would it be best for beef?
Capt Ron

I think I would start with all Jack, spray in mouth, and add juice a little at a time (spraying in mouth with each addition) until perfect. Somewhere along the way you'll probably find that the ratio no longer matters to you.

I have been doing the Jack and Apple Juice for many years.
I use a 50/50 mixture.
PARTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Smoke On!!!!!

I don't spray much these days but I used to do apple juice and bouron in a 75/25 ratio... Specifically for brisket, I would also throw in a drop of cayenne and garlic powder or some leftover dry rub.

I have sprayed BBQ in a couple of years.

When I did, it was 25% or so booze and balance AJ.
Southern Comfort was the booze of choice :lol:

RIP Janis.

TIM

It's what ever makes you happy. I done the 50/50 and sometimes a little lighter depending on what to divy up for cooking & drinkin.

Pretty interesting.
Great responses here compared to "other" places!

Gotta love the Brethren :lol:

TIM

The last time I cooked butts it was just AJ and some seasonings that were strained out after it had time to simmer. I've added some Jack or other spirits in the past for flavor and it was probably in the 20-25% range as The_Kapn said. It's all about taste, and what you like.

I don't cook butts that often, but I still spray based on the rub, contents of the mop, and the things I add towards the end of the cook. Again, it's about what YOU like.

50/50 for the meat. Straigt up for me. Almost out of 80 proof, might have to rethink ratio :twisted: .