Tips and Advice For My First Smoked Chuck Roast

smokey and the brisket

Is lookin for wood to cook with.
Reaction score
I just picked up 2 chuck roasts to throw in the smoker on saturday. I thought this would be fun and something different than my usual weekend adventures. Any advice from the brethren would be greatly appreciated!

I too am setting out on that same venture tomorrow. Since it is my first time too, I can't share from experience, but I'll share what I did. First I rubbed that baby down with some whole grain mustard, then I put a rub of salt, brown sugar, black pepper, cinnamon, onion, garlic, smoked paprika, and chipotle. I'm going to smoke it at 225 for about twelve hours with mesquite and cherry blend. Then I'm going to pull it for sammiches.

I just picked up 2 chuck roasts to throw in the smoker on saturday. I thought this would be fun and something different than my usual weekend adventures. Any advice from the brethren would be greatly appreciated!

Cover both lightly with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper both sides. Let sit in fridge overnight. Throw them on the smoker next day 225 F to 250 F. Halfway through the cook, wrap em up in foil. When internal temp around 200 F, pull them out. When you feel like it, put them both in a container and shred them up like pulled pork.

I did this about a year ago and they turned out fine. My take anyway.

Just did a couple yesterday. Mustard, ployboys rub, on smoker at 250. Put em in a pan when they hit 165. Took them off when they hit 200. Let them rest in foil for a bit and then pulled. Awesome.

Oh and throw some potatoes, carrots and onion in the pan toward the end too if you want some veggies...

I slice mine just like doing brisket. Cook 225-250 and wrap in foil at 165 and finish cooking to 190-195. For the price I do Chuck roast all the time vs. brisket.

Order the Oakridge comp beef and pork rub and follow the others cooking instructions. Best flavor you will eat