Visitors to the royal

K

Kung Fu BBQ

I volunteered to be on the marketing commitee for the American Royal this year (thought it'd good on a resume). their big goal is to bump up the numbers of spectators on saturday.
I just thought I'd ask you guys what you think would lure in the masses.
I've read plenty of threads about the miscommunication between spectators and teams what people expect when they arrive about freebies and other things.

So: What do you think would lure more folks to a compitition on judgement day?

To me as a cook I dont want too many spectator on a turn in day because they can get in the way. For me to go as a spectator I go see people I know add to see what people are cooking on and with. As and average person probably has little interest in the pit unless it is massive or has some kitch to it. So it a tough call on how to get more people on sat. The best way is to have concerts and possibly a people choice,

SP said:
To me as a cook I dont want too many spectator on a turn in day because they can get in the way. For me to go as a spectator I go see people I know add to see what people are cooking on and with.

I went one time about 7 years before going back with a team and cooking. I found NO reason to go as a "spectator" unless you have friends cooking.

If I wanted to look at stuff sat is great because ther are few spectators.

One time in Seattle they had Rick Browne and local celebrity chefs give cooking demonstrations. I think the local press was a sponsor so there was a pretty good turnout, but only one vendor working and lines were endless. Everybody was under the impression there would be samples, and all the teams were wore out explaining why they could not. How about contacting the local news or press and do a spotlight on the workings of a competition, meats, turnins and awards etc. I know my first time was disapointing from a spectator POV.