Its Small and I Cant Get It Up.

C

Capozzoli

Just got done a mini UDS and its our first cook with it. GOt a Boston Butt in there now.

It just doesnt seem to want to go above 200. I think it may be the cheapo therm. from the big orange box. I didnt test it. I have all of the ports and valve open and still not getting above two hundred. I going through the fuel too. Using cowboy coals cause that is all I could get my hands on today. Got a few chucks of apple wood too. Burnt through a basket full in a couple of hours. Its 50 degrees outside, not that cold.

Im gonna go on instinct and close it up and crack the valve.

DSC07600.jpg

I made the fire basket out of a six inch piece of schedule forty. Maybe it is too small?

DSC07602.jpg

Ill post pics of the butts in a little while.

+

I'm far from an expert, but it looks to me that the firebox would have very little airflow. With a UDS most guys are using expanded metal which gives the charcoal a lot air to breathe.

Just my observation.

Jacob

Im pretty sure the fire basket is getting enough air. I cut a bunch of holes in the pipe and there is expanded metal on the bottom. I think its working cause I am burning through fast with all of the ports open.

I think maybe the basket is too small. Its six inch dia and about eight high.
The drum is 20 gallons, I think?

Guess I have to make a bigger fire basket.

DSC07622.jpg

Six lb pork butt 4-5 hours later and I am almost to the IT.

If the thermometer you have is the small Char-Broil one from HD, I've got 8 of them and they all tested to be pretty close to exact.
I'd question the basket 1st.

Looks like it's coming along nicely. But, I too think the CB is too small. I use a grill basket in my mini WSM as a CB and it works great. It's something similar to this -

051094026-01-grilling-basket.jpg

Get some long SS bolts, lock washers, and some nuts and make some legs. You may have to remove the handles too or get one without handles.

Last edited: