Looking for some advice from the stick burners out there...

K

ksmoker

I am new to stick burning and would like some advice before I dive into my new Lang smoker.

I have been using charcoal and lump for years and using chips and chunks for smoke flavor. So with using sticks / wood only, how much stronger or weaker will the smoke flavor be assuming we are comparing hickory chips/chunks to using hickory logs only as a fuel source? Do you need to cover your meat with foil after a certain amount of time to reduce the chance of 'oversmoking' using all wood?

I know certain varibles will affect time and temp but can you estimate for me how much wood can I expect to burn through on average for a low and slow cook of lets say 6, 8, 10 hours at 250F? Remember, I have no snow here to contend with, temps are in the 80's on avg. :becky:

The only wood I can manage to get regularly here in South Florida is oak and even that will be a hassle at times. Can you recommend any reputable online sites for good priced wood for my new Lang cooker. Any other suggestions on locating wood for my Lang?

Thank you in advance guys!

KK

i use a reverse flow cooker.after i get a bed of coals with charcoal then start adding wood.all i use is pecan.to keep it at my temp i add 2 pcs every 40 mins.does not have a strong smoke taste on the meat.be careful of the kind of wood you use.oak will give a strong flavor.never used hickory

doitbest.com great source for wood chunks; no shipping cost.

Have Lang and I still mix charcoal and wood. About 1 "stick" every hour. We foil,
but that's not because there's any more or any less smoke. About 1 chimney scoop
of charcoal per hour as well...

doitbest.com great source for wood chunks; no shipping cost.

Have Lang and I still mix charcoal and wood. About 1 "stick" every hour. We foil,
but that's not because there's any more or any less smoke. About 1 chimney scoop
of charcoal per hour as well...

Do you light the chimney before adding each hour?