First try at practice boxes

Cigarbque

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
This is my first try at building turn in boxes. I am looking to learn so feedback is welcome. Had fun doing this today. Sorry my camera skills are not better.

boxes032.jpg

boxes048.jpg

boxes040.jpg

boxes046.jpg

I'd give the chicken a high 7 or 8. Some minor quibbles to nitpick, but overall the chicken presentation is solid.

The ribs I'd give a 7. My personal choice notwithstanding, the long (not St. Louis trimmed, I'm guessing?) bones look too narrow when you stack 4 on top of 4. I'd more fully fill the width of the box before I start stacking a second layer of bones.

The pork doesn't appeal to me at all. Whatever brown looking goo is on that doesn't say "delicious" to me. Maybe it's the photography (white balance / color's off?). Did the light change to a fluorescent source?

Sorry, but judging the photo and not the actual in-person box, I'd give the pork a 4. Similar deal with the brisket - probably a 5. It looks like you had to trim after the brisket was cooked to make it fit in the box. If you have a really big flat, I'd say it's better to trim (neatly) before you cook it.

Overall good looking but here is are my tips.

Chicken - Get the parsley a little more even all the way around. Looks like 2 thighs have the bones sticking out.

Ribs - Good on the parsley but agree with the Professor...spread out them ribs.

Pork - I like the slices on the right. Hard to tell what happened to the 2 on the left.

Brisket - Need to line the slices up. And 1 little piece of parsley in the back needs to go.

Getting good boxes is hard. I thought mine from this weekend looked great but the judges popped in a couple of 6's on me. I'll post them later so you can see. Good luck and keep trying!!!

Uncle Bud