Peoples Choice

akoda

is one Smokin' Farker
I am signing up to do a contest soon and they have a peoples choice bracket. I have never done one before because it was never an option due to space. Now I have a big SF and am pondering PC. They require 20#'s of uncooked butt. My questions are do I just turn this in in a foilded pan? Can i add left over competition butt to it if I want? What drawbacks are there for entering?

Thanks

If the contest is Lenexa Peoples choice turn in is at 3 so I plan on just cooking one extra butt and pulling with all the leftover comp pork and turning it in. I normally cook 3 butts anyway. My wife pulls all the pork after pork turn in anyway so it wont be any more work than we normally do.

You would have to ask the organizer about how to turn it in. People's Choice isn't a sanctioned category so it varies at every competition.

We only do people's choice if it is blind judging. I've seen too many PC with on site judging turn into a competition to see who can recruit the most friends and family to vote.

The only drawback I can see is your time and cooker space. If the turn in time for the PC interferes with your comp schedule, don't do it. But if you have the space (and it sounds like you do) and the timing is good, do it. You never know what will happen :-D We've won a couple and taken second place in a couple.

It is, and you're going down ;)

If the contest is Lenexa Peoples choice turn in is at 3 so I plan on just cooking one extra butt and pulling with all the leftover comp pork and turning it in. I normally cook 3 butts anyway. My wife pulls all the pork after pork turn in anyway so it wont be any more work than we normally do.

Thanks, plenty of space, plenty of time, I figure why not. I think it helps the folks that come enjoy the experience.

You would have to ask the organizer about how to turn it in. People's Choice isn't a sanctioned category so it varies at every competition.