Lump Charcoal, am I doing something wrong?

BeerdedTexan

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Name or Nickame
Sheldon
So I'm 4 smokes and a burn test into ownership of my new drum smoker. After some frustrating burnouts and temp swings with B&B lump I switched over to good ol cheap kingsford original, and what do you know I was able to run at 325 plus for a hot and fast pork shoulder, ended up burning the charcoal out to see what I got and it gave me about 12 hours at 300+ on 8 pounds of fuel. I can only imagine that 8 pounds would go well into the 16-18 hour range for a low and slow burn. I don't have a problem with kingsford as it's cheap and readily available, but I really wanted the lump to work out better. Is there a way to pack lump or light it that helps achieve a longer more even burn or is it just a matter of learning to use it with experience. Thanks all.

I am by no means an expert but I have found that lump burns hotter, and cleaner, but with more temp variations than plain old briquettes. I believe the temp variations stem in large part because of the different sizes and shapes of the individual lumps. I use a BBQ Guru in my WSM and that really helps greatly with the temp issue.

I run only lump in my WSM. When I load it, I tamp it down to try to reduce the air gaps. It's impossible to completely eliminate them, but I figure the less, the better.

I really think there's a learning curve you need to experience, so stop with the briquets and use the fuel God intended us to use. :bolt::behindsofa:

• Thanks
Reactions: NZ
When I was doing a lot of cooks in my UDS, I liked the results I got by using half lump mixed in with half briqs. Less ash and slightly more consistent chunk size in the basket. I always mixed in my wood chunks within the basket at various depths. This basket build process took a bit of time, but was always well worth it for long cooks.

• Thanks
Reactions: NZ