Howdy from Texas

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

BuddyHorn

Hi, I am BuddyHorn, AKA Mike.
I have lurked here for about a month. I stumbled upon the site while researching competition BBQ. I am a novice compared to many of the folks on here. I have always been the go to guy among friends and family for anything BBQ.

Its always been a hobby and a sense of pride for me to provide excellent Q for those I love, and some I don't know. Lately, my father has gotten into it. In 2010, Dad was diagnosed with Cancer. After the bad news, I realized and I think he did too, that we needed to bond a little more as men and family. Well, my father who has never done more than burgers or lemon pepper chicken on a gas grill started to show interest in my hobby. This has taken my hobby to another level. Our "man time" has been great for us. It has also led my dad to start to nudge me to take it much more serious.

He has urged me to market my sauces, rubs, brines and my grill to other folks. I have always just given my goods away, but dad thinks I can make a business out of the hobby. Who knows, we are just in the preliminary stages.

For now, we are looking to compete in some local competitions in and around DFW. Spend time together and see where our hobby takes us. I will be reading anything and everything related to the comps as they are very intimidating from where I sit right now.

I look forward to learning from the site, maybe there are things I can contribute. I am impressed by the fellowship that is evident in these halls.

Welcome to the Brethren. This is a great place. I went to school at NTSU and lived in Denton a few years after that. I miss TX.

I will be 34 in Feb. I am going back to school in the fall. I am enrolling at UNT(formerly NTSU)

Get back to Texas as soon as you can. I know I did. :grin:

I will be 34 in Feb. I am going back to school in the fall. I am enrolling at UNT(formerly NTSU)

Get back to Texas as soon as you can. I know I did. :grin: