Avoid Pit Boss Pellets!

I'm a pellet newbie, so maybe don't listen to me, but...

I've had good luck with B&B pellets, Cookin Pellets and Bear Mountain. BC I'm anal and don't want to tear up an expensive cooker, I filter my pellets (with this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008B0T5Z2?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_dt_b_product_details) and store them in sealed 5gal buckets.

More work, but might help from tearing up a nice machine like that Pitts & Spitts..

@brisketboss,

Just out of curiosity what did you expect PitBoss to do for you in terms of compensation?

Something more than "take it back for a refund and I'll throw you a bottle of rub for your inconvenience" something that would dissuade me from writing public negative reviews, something that would retain me as a customer - maybe some free bags of pellets or a gift card to cover the ruined brisket. something.

:shrug:

When I bought my CH5 last year, I also bought 3 bags of PB pellets. All 3 had a lot of sawdust and pellet "fines". I ended up having to sift the pellets from the bag before I put them in the hopper. Once sifted they were great, but a lot of pellet dust in all 3 bags. I did not have a problem with burnback as I recognized the potential problem and removed the dust/fines before using them, but as I understand it, sawdust and fines are the most likely cause of auger tube burn back of the fire into the hopper. I have not bought PB since, but have been using mostly Lumberjack (along with some B&B which I already had on hand.)

It may just be the 3 bags I bought had rough handling from employees at Walmart, but it was all 3 bags. My lumberjack was part of a bulk buy last year and so far has been great with no issues at all.

I've noticed they are very dusty, I've been through 3 40lb bags and super dusty when handling them. the Smoke Ring pellets much less dusty/less fines.