New thermometer?

Hawkiphan

Found some matches.
Reaction score
I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker that I have used once. I am looking to buy a digital thermometer. What brands and models do you recommend? Do you really think it is necessary to get a remote thermometer or are the wired ones more reliable?

Thanks for your help.

If you want inexpensive wireless, a lot of people go with the Maverick.

http://www.amazon.com/Maverick-Remo...?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1276838281&sr=8-10

The wireless is reasonably reliable, but of course you have more batteries to worry about vs. a wired unit.

I assume you want to monitor the smoker temp, and maybe 1 meat. If you want to do spot checks to see if something is done, you want an instant read thermometer.

The clear choice there is the Thermapen (expensive, but very good), however my fellow Brethren will have to tell you which color is correct. :becky:

http://www.amazon.com/Splash-Proof-...1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1276838467&sr=8-1

Of course you don't need one and half the time I can't be bothered to take mine off the shelf, but sometimes it is nice, especially if you're doing a butt and you want some idea what the temp is at to give you an idea if it may be done in closer to 1 hour or 5 hours.

Like many people here, I went with Maverick for a remote. I am supremely disappointed. There are many flaws in this, like the unit losing signal and not telling you, and the range being somewhere on the order of 10 ft unless you do an antenna mod on the unit. Couple that with the faulty wires which may last for 1 cook or for 20 cooks before going bad, I think this is a brand to be avoided. I also tried and returned their instant read that costs about the same as a Thermapen, except takes about 15 seconds to settle in on a reading.