Jayhawk Country

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

davidmcg

Well this is my intro, yeah.

I am a retired/disabled Deputy Sheriff from Wyandotte County KS. I currently work part time for a plastic manufacturer in Lawrence KS. We live up here in the rural area of McLouth KS.

I have been smoking meat for about 21 years now. Started with a horizontal drim and still have it. Coals in one side and smoke chamber in the other. After 21 years how can I get rid of it. I also have another horizontal drum that I added an offset firebox. Its my main smoker, it smokes more food. Then I have a charcoal Brinkman vertical, 2 gourmet electric Brinkmans one of which I am converting to charcoal, a fridge conversion and a file cabinet smoker, plus a UDS.

First meat I ever smoked was brisket. Took me several tries to figure out the whole, temp., smoke combo's, rubs and marinades. Then came the ribs, pork ribs that is. After that I went to pork butts. The butts are my favorite. Sliced or pulled you can't beat them. Pile on a sandwich or refine a little further for burrito's, enchiladas and nachos. Then I went to what I just called stuff meatballs. Later on I found out some people call them MOINKS. Started doing jerky back about 18 years ago with venison. After several years I found out about ABT's and beer can chiken. In the last couple of years I have refined the whole fattie bit. Wow, getting hungry again. Best part in the last year I found out you can vac pack this stuff and it will keep a long time.

For the last 3 years I have been trying to put together a competition team, which I did. Problem is getting my work to allow me time off. No luck yet, but this will be the last year I put up with this. Going back to school so I can start my own business. So if I don't compete this year, next yer I will definitely join the ranks of frustrated and happy competitors.
A good find of mine got me to want to compete. Him and his wife run the Pig Newton team in KC.