Pellet Smoker Fail

Nazzoli

Wandering around with a bag of matchlight, looking for a match.
Reaction score
Hello everyone, my name is Nick. I’m in south eastern Michigan north of Detroit.
I have been smoking on my masterbuilt electric smoker for a few years now and have become very good with it.
I just purchased a camp chef dlx and used it on Sunday. It did not go well. My ribs turned into jerky. Not sure what happened but I followed my normal method of 2-2-1 at 225. I used a mix of traeger brand pellets, apple and hickory. My initial thought is that the temperature inside the grill is not what was being shown on the digital control. So I just purchased a digital thermometer and will check that out this weekend.
Any initial thought or additional help because I am super frustrated!!!!

Use a good therm. next to the meat.
the ones on the pellet grills tend to "vary"
mine holds temp pretty well it just doesn't match the displayed temp.
keep trying you'll get it, its part of learning your new toy

Jeff

I am not familiar with that brand, but I would say you are on the right track. Did you use the same cutof rib, and same size as ones before? I got some farmers market ribs once and made them into a tough, burnt jerky slab. I believe they were too small compared to usual? That is my only 2¢

one other thing to consider as well..are you sure the therm on your electric was right? you may have been cooking much cooler than 225 before. just a thought. you are on the right track though, good luck!

Monitor your temps, I'm sure there will be a learning curve but that's part of the fun of getting a new toy.

As a side note I did a rack of ribs recently (on the Traeger pellet) that the butcher had trimmed pretty good, as in not much meat left on the bones. I saw this while prepping them but failed to cook them accordingly.
Result. . . dry chewy ribs.

225 on my traeger which is similar to a camp chef (temp probe wise) is about 250 on the grates.