Old Country Over/Under Newbie Questions

cmoore67

Found some matches.
Reaction score
Hi all! Been browsing this forum for a few years but here goes my first post..."First time caller...Long time listener".

I am fairly new to the smoking game but it has become my favorite hobby. I have a Char-Griller duo with the firebox that I have been using for a while now. I've been a charcoal and woodchip smoker so this will be my first experience going with primarily wood.

My wife has let me pick out a new smoker for Christmas. I've had my eye on the Over/Under for a few years now and pulled the trigger. I ordered it as my local Academy's had all their over/under's on display..filled with trash or rusting outside. So I paid for the shipping and it will arrive at my doorstep on Wed. Dec. 20. I'll keep the Duo for grilling.

I've read a lot about the O/U on this forum and another, watched the youtube video's etc but am looking for best practices from the pro's on here. I understand that these are subjective questions...

1-When you season the smoker is there an oil that would be best to use? And WD-40 on the outside?

2-Is there a good place to look for wood? I primarily use apple and cherry with some occasional hickory from time to time...I just bought some bags of logs at Academy but don't know if there is a primary place you guys get yours.

3-When starting the initial charcoal...in a chimney or in the firebox...or does it matter.

4-Are there any "Best Practices" for using the O/U? Old Country doesn't seem to offer up any.

5-Anything else you guys can offer up to a newbie on both wood smoking and the over/under.

Thanks! Looking forward to posting some pics in the future!