Reheating vacuum packed meats? Which ones handle sous vide well?

Czarbecue

Babbling Farker
Reaction score
A couple of months ago I was planning on dragging one of my cookers to Atlanta metro on a 12 hour trip, with a detour to Tuscaloosa to pick up some grates and fondle a Shirley or two. Well, only the fondling is going to happen since neither of my cookers are road ready. So I will be smoking it here and packaging them up a week or so in advance before we head out on the 21st.

I figure if the Salt Lick can do it, no reason why I can't! But the cousin-in-law doesn't have a grill or smoker. Is sous vide the way to go to reheat the meats? I have a giant bus boy tub that I can dump the packages in and sous vide them to 150F but I have no experience in this method of reheating.

Or should I bring the turkey roaster for the brisket and a rack or two?

Gently reheating works best for me, it doesn't cook the meat any further than it already is.

Right after I cook the meat that I plan to vacuum seal, I put it in the fridge to coagulate the meat juices and fat, then vacuum seal once it's cold. This keeps the vacuum suction from pulling juice out of the meat.

Then, when I'm ready to serve, I set my Anova to 140* for an hour or so and it's nearly as good as eating it fresh.

I plan to cook all the meat for my brothers wedding (200 people) well in advance and just sous vide it in a couple large coolers the day of.

Sounds like unnecessary time and work to me. I either use my microwave's "thaw" cycle with some resting in between zaps or I just put the bags in a sink filled with hot tap water. Once the bags are thawed, I microwave to warm the food as necessary.

Sous vide is great, but for thawing IMO it's like using a micrometer to measure the diameter of a cookie. It will work, but it's not the easiest method.

I'm with Sudsandswine.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk