MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 08-27-2015, 10:12 PM   #1
walley_eye
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

Default Master forge charcoal idea/input please

So a while back I got my Master Forge charcoal smoker and did the Brinkman mods to the charcoal pan, ball valve air intakes and weber top vent.

The problem I found is that using the minion method is that the charcoal would burn in the direction of the open air intake nipple or ball valve and I couldn't keep the temp where it needed to be.

So here's my new idea.

I'm thinking of using the Weber smokey Joe silver tuna can air intake under the charcoal grill and using the ball valve to maybe add more air in flow to try to keep the temp where it needs to be.

What are your thoughts and ideas please?

walley_eye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-27-2015, 11:04 PM   #2
SmittyJonz
somebody shut me the fark up.

We're temps too high or too low? What temp were you trying to maintain? If trying for 225* but running hotter just go with it anywhere 300* n under. I think 275* is Best All Around Everything BBQ Temp.

If temps were too low try Briquetts instead of Lump. Hot usually burns a little Hotter but needs more airflow in my experiences.

Old 08-28-2015, 12:28 AM   #3
Bludawg

I have the same pit