MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 04-07-2015, 01:49 PM   #1
Utbbq
Wandering around with a bag of matchlight, looking for a match.

Default Need help with choosing smoker!!

Hello.
I am fairly new to the smoking, although I've been eating for several years. I have a couple of Traeger pellet grills and am looking to move up a little. Can anyone tell me the difference (or preference) between the YS640 and YS1500, besides the obvious size difference? I wouldn't be catering or anything. I've just heard there are a few differences in the way that they cook and not sure if it will make a difference to me personally.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions welcome and encouraged.

Last edited by Utbbq; 04-07-2015 at 02:17 PM..
Utbbq is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-2015, 02:40 PM   #2
PekingPorker
is one Smokin' Farker

In my opinion the 640 is probably the perfect cooker for most people, especially backyard smokers. The 1500 is bigger (obviously) but eats a lot more pellets per hour to keep that larger chamber full. I've only had my Yoder for 6 months, so most of my cooks were in winter, and the 1500 did burn through a ton of pellets. My last two cooks with temperatures in the 70's seem to have reduced pellet consumption quite a bit.

I've never cooked on a 640, but I have yet to fill my 1500 to capacity. That said, I do also use a gravity smoker so I haven't needed to fill up the Yoder.

Hopefully nucornhusker will see this post and chime in. I know he's had both smokers.