Wanting to try stickburning, which one?

ajstrider

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
So I've been cooking for a couple years now, but only on charcoal and pellets. I have always been fascinated with burning logs and want to give it a try. I'm strictly a backyard cooker and don't cook for very large groups. I was hoping to keep this venture under $1000 but I want a quality smoker. My eyes are on a Yoder Cheyenne with the HMS in it. I've eyeballed the Horizons too but think I prefer the Yoder. The Lang 36 is right there too. Any recommendations from you guys?

I got the Lang 36 original patio for $1095 and I'm very pleased with it. Fortunately for me I didn't have to pay for shipping as Nahunta, Ga. is leass than an hour and a half drive from my house. One thing I was set on getting was reverse flow.

Honestly, you can't go wrong with the Yoder, Lang or a Shirley custom. Do your homework and decide if you want to do reverse flow or regular flow/tuning plates. That will change your options as well. Depending on what kind of footprint you want, a vertical stick burner like Peeps' is an option as well.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=171324

Academy sells a decent starter stickburner too.. for around 500.00 I don't know what it is called though

Personally I'd say go for a less expensive one to start out and see if you like the duty of tending a stick burner. It will never be a set it and forget it. but it is fun for those of us who have them. I'd not go any other route personally. But I have time for it so it works well for me

ON EDIT: You'll also need to make sure you have a place to get/store your wood too

I have a Lang 36 Patio...Its a great cooker...I wouldn't trade it for anything mentioned...Its also has great re-sell value, if you find out that stick burning isn't your thing...

Get heavy metal and you can loose....Good luck!