The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Old 08-05-2013, 12:09 PM   #1
akoda
is one Smokin' Farker

Default First Comp in a month

I have been making BBQ for over 10 years and I and my family thinks it's great :)

My first competition is coming up in a month and I have been reading up on everything that you gurus have been willing to share. Skinning chicken (that sux), brisket pull test, boxing, sauces, money muscle <--wtf ;).

My stress is getting up there, I need to remind myself to have fun and hope for some beginners luck.

Thanks for all of the tips you all are sharing on this forum.
Weber 18
Smokey Joe
Weber Genesis Gasser
Superfast Red Thermopen

Old Church, Va
akoda is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-2013, 12:48 PM   #2
PekingPorker
is one Smokin' Farker

akoda, I'm in the same boat as you. My first comp is next month plus, they bumped me into the professional division. It was a totally stress free "just have fun" thing for me when I registered for Backyard (filled up while my application was in the mail), so when they offered to give me a pro spot for the same price as backyard I said yes. I've been on a roller coaster of emotion trying to tell myself to just have fun. I've only set one goal for myself, not to finish DAL in every category.

The money muscle has been kicking my @$$ too! I use to think my pork was good, but that's when I just pulled and/or chopped the entire thing.