First Cook - In Ground Pit/Intro

Hi Cheese

Knows what a fatty is.
I've been smoking/BBQ for 6 years or so and have collected 7 or 8 grills/smokers. lol All have different functions. Building a cooker out of brick is something I've been wanting to do for a while now. I finally acquired the materials to build it and read alot from this forum. So I'd figure I'd share my experience.

Typically, everyone was saying if you wrap the meat in (burlap/foil/banana leaves, etc) you won't get any smoke flavor. That was something I wanted to figure out. After days of thinking about it, I decided to combine a typical indoor roast with an outdoor cook by utilizing a hotel tray.

So, since I am new to this form of cooking, the pit I built is just stacked brick. The size may actually work out good so I'm going to mortar the brick to make it more permanent. The pit is about 24" square and about 15" deep. BTW - I removed a huge tree stump to put the pit there, my back was feeling it.

IMG_5643.jpg

I started the fire around 7am, I used 3 wheelbarrows of wood. At just around noon, I had about 4 inches of coals. Articles I read said to have 10-12" which turned out, would have been way too much.

IMG_5645.jpg

IMG_5651.jpg

For the 8# butt, I made a guajillo chili sauce:

12 or so guajillo chiles, toasted stems removed
4-6 cloves garlic
6 roma tomatoes, halved
2 fresno chiles, halved, stems removed
1 T cumin
1 t ground clove
salt
pepper
2 cups water

Add all the ingredients to a sauce pan and simmer for 30 minutes. Blend until smooth and taste for seasoning.

I marinated the pork with the sauce and placed it in a hotel pan on a bed of: carrot, celery, onion, garlic and jalapenos. I also added about 6 cups of water. You want about an inch or so of water in the pan.

IMG_5649.jpg