MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  



Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
davefan360
Take a breath!
 
Join Date: 10-25-11
Location: Troy MI (dreaming of sitting in a treestand)
Default do I need door thermometers ?

I am building a 120gallon RF pit. I will have 4 spots for remote probes, do I need to have door thermometers too? I would like to go with tru-tel but they are like 35$ each and we would want 3. I know we could add them down the road but to start do we need them?
__________________
http://www.facebook.com/PyroBbq
davefan360 is offline   Reply With Quote




Old 03-10-2013, 04:14 PM   #2
yakdung
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: Houston, Texas
Default

IMHO no. Go digital at grate level if you feel the need.
yakdung is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 04:16 PM   #3
Swamp Donkeyz BBQ
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Swamp Donkeyz BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-12
Location: Huntsville, Tx
Default

Sounds like you don't need them right now. I would at least put the couplings in the doors for the Tru Tels and put some plugs in them. That way they will be there when you do need them.
Swamp Donkeyz BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
TuscaloosaQ
Babbling Farker

 
Join Date: 07-11-11
Location: Tuscaloosa Alabama
Default

I like my door therms... all about preference INMHO
TuscaloosaQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 05:01 PM   #5
Smokin' D
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: N. Andover, MA
Default

I have a Good One Rodeo which came with but ONE thermo. C'mon, this thing has 4 grates. Tell Tru all the way Baby!



Each thermo is just under each grate. Works for me. I agree with putting in the threaded ports and plugging for now. The probe therms are nice, and you will want to use some for the meat anyway, but the built ins are rock solid.
Smokin' D is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 05:07 PM   #6
Bludawg
somebody shut me the fark up.
 
Bludawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-09
Location: Jonesboro,Tx
Default

I don't put much faith in electrical gizmos probse go bad, batteries die, and rain is hell on them. Tru tel's are like Zippo Lighters a little tweek every now and again they keep on going, that electrical scrap is like a Bic ya can't Tweek 'em when they quit there good for target practice.
__________________
I'm a Proxy Vegetarian> Cows eat grass & I eat cows.
Bludawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from: --->
Old 03-10-2013, 05:15 PM   #7
hamiltont
is One Chatty Farker
 
hamiltont's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-24-10
Location: Lincoln, NE
Name/Nickname : hamiltont
Default

IMO a smoker just isn't complete w/o a big dial thermo, even if it just for bling... Cheers!!!
__________________
If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!
hamiltont is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 05:29 PM   #8
davefan360
Take a breath!
 
Join Date: 10-25-11
Location: Troy MI (dreaming of sitting in a treestand)
Default

ok I think we will just put the ports in and cap them off for now. is tre-tel the best?
__________________
http://www.facebook.com/PyroBbq
davefan360 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 05:39 PM   #9
Swamp Donkeyz BBQ
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Swamp Donkeyz BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-12
Location: Huntsville, Tx
Default

Pretty much.
Swamp Donkeyz BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-10-2013, 07:01 PM   #10
PaPaQ
is One Chatty Farker
 
PaPaQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-07
Location: Midland, NC
Default

I look at Tel-Tru as an investment.
__________________
Shirley Fab 24x65
Weber OTG/Cajun Bandit
PaPaQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-11-2013, 08:26 AM   #11
hamiltont
is One Chatty Farker
 
hamiltont's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-24-10
Location: Lincoln, NE
Name/Nickname : hamiltont
Default

I put a River Country Thermometer in mine. Here are the links to their website & ebay:

http://www.rivercountry101.com/servlet/the-BBQ-%26-SMOKER-THERMOMETERS/Categories

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-RC-T34FC-B...item4170cbfcbb
__________________
If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!
hamiltont is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Forum Custom Search: Enter your Search text below. GOOGLE will search ONLY the BBQ Brethren Forum.
Custom search MAY not work(no display box) in some configurations of Internet Explorer. Please use compliant version of Firefox or Chrome.







All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts