1st KCBS last weekend...looking for some feedback

E

ederan42

So I entered my first KCBS last weekend in Morton, Illinois and had an incredible time. I am already looking into my next comps for this fall. Here are my boxes, I would love for people to critique my work. Any of your feedback would be welcome. Thanks, gentlemen!

On a separate note, I want to send out a big thank you to Special Ed's BBQ Team for mentoring me through my first event. Helping me make my first fatty, sharing a few drinks, and letting me borrow a couple sheets of aluminum foil. I can't say thank you enough.

IMG_0439.jpg

IMG_0442.jpg

IMG_0443.jpg

IMG_0447.jpg

First off, congrats on your first event! It's exhilarating and maddening all at once and as soon as it's over, you can't wait to do another!

Looking at your pics, you are off to a good start. I've only judged about 6 events over the last 2 years and competed in a dozen or so. I'm far from an expert, but I'll offer up what I see!

Even though judges aren't supposed to notice, the garnish is uneven in your trays. Kind of sticks out on out some sides and other places there are empty spaces. Garnish is a royal pain in the ass, so it just takes practice.

Sauce looks like it was kind of glopped on to the chicken. If using a store bought sauce, thin a little bit with water, juice or beer and then try dunking your chicken instead of pouring or brushing the sauce on the bird.

Could just be the surface of the ribs, but it looks like there are brush strokes on the ribs and they look a little dry. A shiny glaze is HUGE for appearance on chx and ribs. Again, just takes practice.