MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 12-16-2011, 01:45 PM   #1
KingRanch450
is One Chatty Farker

Default Reverse Flow vs Offset

I'm sure this has been beat to death here so forgive me....Im a newbie and trying to research my first pit purchase. I've narrowed my search down to two pit builders here in Texas. One is a Reverse Flow and the other an Offset with tuning plates. I will be cooking mostly for family and friends but am interested in cooking comps someday. I'd love to hear everybody's opinion on which would be best for a rookie smoker.
KingRanch450 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-16-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
SirPorkaLot
somebody shut me the fark up.

Name/Nickname : John

I have only used an offset, but have the understanding that the reverse flow is a fuel hog, but produces more consistent temps.

I temp differences all over my offset, but now that I have those differences mapped out, I actually enjoy having different temp zones in the same smoke chamber.

I am interested in the responses you will get, so I'll be following this thread closely.

Old 12-16-2011, 02:44 PM   #3
BBQ Bandit
Babbling Farker

That is hard to say... have both styles (Lang and Klose).
The Lang's for needing to cook more than 100 lbs.
The Klose BYC is just that ... my BackYard Chef.

Each stye has pros and cons... both are stickburners... however buy the thickest metal you can afford in either smoker.

Former smokers;