Lower End Competitions

twinsfan

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
Hello folks,

I've been doing this for several years, and keep getting better. All you can ask. I've gotten a little curious about wanting to see how my cooking stands up/measures.

Now, in a decade or two, I guess, I could contemplate KCBS, but right now i totally, totally, totally lack enough skill.

I'm wondering in the next few years with a license coming if there are lower level competitions besides KCBS.

I doubt there's anything up north but I'm talking about town festivals, etc. I feel like with my family's experience and since I've been doing this for several years now I feel like I've reached a new step and never really received educated feedback with places I need to improve... and I just need to mark how I'm progressing.

Hope y'all understand. :-D

You are more than likely ain't gonna win your very first contest. Might as well jump in and do a KCBS contest. Competition in BBQ is a lot more than just winning or wanting to place good when you start, it's about learning the game and having a great time.

agree with podge...but, for a first, very freindly, amateur comp., try manns orchards in the spring.

great guys and they treat the teams well. a nice forray into the sport.

I agree with jumping into a few competitions. That is what we did and are improving each time. What do you mean by a license coming? Like getting a food license?

Man, $250 entries are insane though. That's too steep for me ATM. Ehhhh can Bobby Flay come to town? :grin:

$250 is tough for someone your age, but you may be surprised at the people and/or businesses that may be willing to help out. I wish I could get my teenagers interested. My youngest is 15 and she does take some interest, but the whole getting up at 4am just doesn't jive with her.