MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 09-09-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
snyper77
Full Fledged Farker

Default Newbie here - Questions about wood

I'm in northeast Alabama. There are LOTS of trees down due to recent tornadoes and tropical storms. I have people offering me oak and hickory. I've already accumulated 2 chevy truck loads of hickory.

1. Should I get some oak also?
  2. Should I always mix oak (70%) with hickory (30%) or would the hickory be overbearing if I use it 100%?
I'm definitely going to get pecan and fruit wood if it's offered.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Old 09-09-2011, 11:09 PM   #2
JMSetzler
Babbling Farker

Name/Nickname : John

I'd say get whatever you can if it's free and create yourself a nice stockpile of dried woods to use.

Old 09-09-2011, 11:09 PM   #3
jimithing78
Full Fledged Farker

Depends on what you like to cook. I like oak and pecan for brisket. I use hickory for pork and sometimes for chicken. Hickory is definitely a strong wood, a little goes a long way for me. Never hurts to get some while you can though. If you end up not liking the taste of a certain wood you can always give it away free on craigslist.

Old 09-09-2011, 11:13 PM   #4
Boshizzle
somebody shut me the fark up.

I like to mix oak and hickory at about 80% oak and 20% hickory. Works really well. Don't pass up oak. It's also good by itself. So, yes, go for it!

Use oak for heat and hickory for smoke. But, oak for heat and smoke works good too.

Old 09-10-2011, 01:53 AM   #5
HeSmellsLikeSmoke