Rib Cooking Time Mystery

jrstout

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
The "fall off the bone" thread reminded me of a question I've been meaning to ask.

I've been cooking ribs for a few years now and I love the way mine come out. They are tender without falling apart; the meat pulls from the bones and leaves the bones totally bare of meat. I also would not consider my ribs as being dry.

My question is about cook time. I constantly read peoples cook times as 4 hours for BBs and a little longer for spares. Well I can't seem to cook ribs in less than 6 hours plus, usually 7 hours minimum and I average 240-260 dome temps in a WSM. I usually trim spares to St Louis, but last weekend I did some BBs for the first time in a long time and they took 7 hours.

I happen to live at 4000' elevation. So my question is, what times do you guys average for ribs and do you think 4000' elevation is enough to make a difference?

Last edited:
Sounds about right to me. Dome temp in a WSM is a lot higher than grate level, so your probably cooking them more in the 225 range. I haven't cooked ribs that low in a few years now, but 7 hours seems right as I recall. I assume you don't foil?

I dont know about the elevation. I do know that external mounted thermometers tend to be 30, 40, and as much as 50 degrees off of the cooking grate temperature. Without thermometers on the surface itself, we're guessing. My *guess* is that you're cooking around 225 to 230 surface temp.

Have you tried measuring the temp at the grate with a calibrated thermometer? I average about 4 1/2 hours for a typical rack of baby backs at 250 grate temp.

I did six racks of BB's yesterday for 4.5 hours at 225 and they came out perfect

I do mine at a bit higher temp (around 275-300) and they take me between 3.5 and 4 hours. At a lower temp, they do take longer though.