My Annual Deer Grind.......

Juggy D Beerman

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
My favorite day of the year has passed. No it wasn't Christmas Day, it wasn't Friday Night at the American Royal and it was not my birthday. It was the day of our annual deer grind. Our group of five people got together and ground up 190 pounds of venison burger. The grinding and packaging process took us about five hours.

Our crew has been doing this as a group for about six years. My buddy, the deer hunter and I have been doing this for going on 15 years. I have the log records on file for the various amounts we have ground and the amounts of fats we have used to get out recipe for fat to venison mix. We have decided that an 80% venison to 20% fat mix yields a mix that is suitable for grilling burgers or making sausage.

To determine the amount of fat needed, we weigh the total amount of venison by .25 and this gives us the amount of fat we need. For example, if we have 100 pounds of meat, we add 25 pounds of fat. This gives us 125 pounds total with 25 pounds of that weight being fat. Doing the math results in one-fifth of the total weight being fat.

In years past, I would save and freeze the hard pork and beef fat from the previous years trimmings from my contest and catering gigs. I don't compete nor cater like I used to so we had to purchase our beef and pork fat at the local meat processor for $2.00 per pound. I do keep the end trimmings of the sliced bacon I buy throughout the year. The bacon trimmings are also a part of the mix. Once the amount of fat needed is calculated, we break down the ratio of beef, pork and bacon fats to 11% beef, 11% pork, and 3% bacon of the total weight of the venison. Using that earlier mentioned example of 25 pounds of fat to 100 pounds of venison, you would have 11 pounds of beef fat, 11 pounds of pork fat and 3 pounds of bacon fat.