MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  



Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2019, 01:33 PM   #1
AWilliams
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 03-13-18
Location: Ramona,Ca.
Name/Nickname : SoCal
Default Stampede 590 owners...

Just got my RecTec Stampede 590 and started the burn in process. During this I put my Thermopro right in the center of the grill and "actual temp" on the unit read about 25-35 degrees hotter than my Thermopro...can it be calibrated or just live with it? Thanks
AWilliams is offline   Reply With Quote




Old 05-17-2019, 01:41 PM   #2
Big George's BBQ
somebody shut me the fark up.


 
Big George's BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-08
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Default

Well first Congrats and Enjoy
I always calibrate my Thermometers by dipping the metal part in boiling water and then set it correctly Also put some biscuits in it and cook they That will help to tell you where the hot spots are
__________________
Large BIG Green EGG- Hatched 8/17/09
Backwoods Extented Party
Weber Genesis Gasser
Mid Atlantic BBQ Association
KCBS
Back Porch BBQ Competition BBQ Team
Proud Member of the Zero Club

When all else fails ask yourself WWGALD
Big George's BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2019, 01:48 PM   #3
AWilliams
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 03-13-18
Location: Ramona,Ca.
Name/Nickname : SoCal
Default

Thanks...I know my Thermopop ison..I've tested it. Thought maybe I could manually adjust the temp probe somehow to avoid having the Thermopro inside
AWilliams is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2019, 02:32 PM   #4
Big George's BBQ
somebody shut me the fark up.


 
Big George's BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-08
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Default

You should be able to take the temp gauge off of the smoker to test it
__________________
Large BIG Green EGG- Hatched 8/17/09
Backwoods Extented Party
Weber Genesis Gasser
Mid Atlantic BBQ Association
KCBS
Back Porch BBQ Competition BBQ Team
Proud Member of the Zero Club

When all else fails ask yourself WWGALD
Big George's BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2019, 03:30 PM   #5
AWilliams
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 03-13-18
Location: Ramona,Ca.
Name/Nickname : SoCal
Default

I'm at work right now so I can't test it but actually it makes sense. It probably is accurate. It sits up at about 8 in and my thermopro sits down at grate level. Hot air rises. I didn't completely lose everything from grade school
AWilliams is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2019, 03:47 PM   #6
Joshw
Babbling Farker

 
Join Date: 09-25-17
Location: Oklahoma
Default

My advice on pellet grills is set the temp, and let it ride. No need, to worry about pit temps anymore. Just cook the meat until it is done.
Joshw is online now   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2019, 04:29 PM   #7
SlowmotionQue
On the road to being a farker
 
Join Date: 03-01-17
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWilliams View Post
Just got my RecTec Stampede 590 and started the burn in process. During this I put my Thermopro right in the center of the grill and "actual temp" on the unit read about 25-35 degrees hotter than my Thermopro...can it be calibrated or just live with it? Thanks
If you want to adjust/calibrate your Stampede to match up with your Thermopro, which is what it appears to be what you're asking, then the following video might help.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTH7SQhMDos

But you have to know that if your Thermopro probe is resting on the grates, it might read different from the Rec Tec actual temp.

How far off of the grates your Thermopro rest, could play a role.

Also, while this following vid pertains to the WSM, it would seem to apply to most if not all cookers, pay particularly close attention to what he says at about 7:30 of the video when he sums it up with the "What have we learned?" portion.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjYLGkM1YpE

In other words, your Thermopro, or other thermometers might never read exactly the same at any and all given times. Thus your Thermopro might not read exactly what your Rec Tec reads "at all times".
SlowmotionQue is online now   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2019, 05:22 PM   #8
AWilliams
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 03-13-18
Location: Ramona,Ca.
Name/Nickname : SoCal
Default

Thanks guys...I wonder why these manufactures like to put the tip of the thermocouple up at 6-7"...not grate level.
AWilliams is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Forum Custom Search: Enter your Search text below. GOOGLE will search ONLY the BBQ Brethren Forum.
Custom search MAY not work(no display box) in some configurations of Internet Explorer. Please use compliant version of Firefox or Chrome.







All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts