Is Brisket OK to smoke with cut between point and flat?

zachg18

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I just got a brisket and the butcher started cutting between the point and the flat before I could tell him to stop.

He said customers usually ask him to trim for them.

I probably should have asked for a new one but I felt bad and didn't want him to waste it.

Can I still smoke as one piece even with this cut here? Or will it complicate things somehow?

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0404.jpg
    IMG_0404.jpg
    78.7 KB · Views: 180
I've done my fair share of brisket, but I am by no means an expert. That being said, and somebody else may say otherwise, but I personally wouldn't sweat it. Smoke it up!

I've done my fair share of brisket, but I am by no means an expert. That being said, and somebody else may say otherwise, but I personally wouldn't sweat it. Smoke it up!

Yeah im thinking I may just have to do fat cap side up? That way juices don't build up in that crease...

I'm trying that on my next brisket........

I usually smoke them whole, fat side up with a chit load of salt and coarse ground black pepper on it. I have read that a lot of guys will separate the point and the flat to get a more uniform thickness to both for an easier cook.

Haven't tried it myself.......but that is what the big kids tell me............

Have sent people trim fat from between the point and flat. Don't see why the cut in yours would be a problem.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

Actually, I'll trim there and expose the point so it renders more....so I don't see that as a problem for you!

I cut most of the fat out between the point and flat but do not separate. More area to rub and keeps the thinner sections moist. So, there is not problem with your cut from my experience.