Back To Basics

C

CH0WH0UND

I'm new to smoking and I could really use a quick and easy tutorial on cooking Ribs. Any help would be appreciated. :confused:

Welcome.

First we need to know what smoker/grill you are planning to use and which fuel.

Second is if you have mastered the fire/temp control.

Those are the first things we would like to know to help you along.

After that... its easy.

I'm going to be using my char griller pro with the side fire box for smoking.
After reading through some threads I've decided to use some lump for fuel with some cherry wood.
I cannot say that I have mastered fire temp control but I have consistently kept a pretty steady temp.
I'm planning to do a couple racks of baby backs if that helps to know.
And also I noticed that the smoke seems to get very thin coming out of my stack. the meat is still cooking but I'm not sure if the smoke needs to be thick in order to be smoking??

Hey Chow, I would say that once you feel comfortable getting to and keeping temperature, the best thing is to do a simple rib cook.

I really like using commercial rubs for a first cook project. But, if you do not have that available a very simple rub will work great with baby backs. Something like

3 tablespoons each kosher salt and medium grind black pepper
1 tablespoon chile powder
1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic
1/2 teaspoon turbinado or natural sugar

Shake to blend then dust onto ribs. Let sit for an hour. Place on smoker.

You want a thin blue smoke coming out of your cooker, you do not want a white or heavy smoke. We all strive for a thin blue smoke, it gives you the cleanest flavor.

Thanks landarc!! you say just dust dust not rub?? let it sit and put em on sounds simple enough... what temp would you recommend to for cooking? do i need to foil them or do anything later on in the process?? thanks again for your insight.