• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

How to get a more flavorful crust on a steak?

Kanco Connection

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
Guys,

I think I do quite well with steaks. Like most of you, I do a reverse sear (kettle/Slow N Sear), and the results are consistently good. My crowd thinks I'm a steak expert. But I want a little more flavor in the crust/sear.

I generally keep it simple. S&P, but occasionally I like Montreal. I use clarified butter for the sear. I go all out on the searing coals--often 2 full chimneys of fresh coals--extreme heat is not a problem.

I like what I do. Just searching for any possible way to go from great to perfect. Any tips on taking the flavor over the top? I wonder if I'm getting it too hot for searing? Is that even possible?

I used to put on all kinds of spices before grilling steaks. I have come to appreciate the results of a good reverse seared rib-eye on the BGE with just S&P. If we do anything, it is after the fact, during the rest period. We really like compound butters for flavor, but don't mess with my crust!:boxing:

More than one way to skin a cat but here's the easiest IMHO. Carne Crosta rub from Oakridge bbq and hot griddle or CI pan. That's it. Besides giving your steaks an amazing crust that rub is off the hook good. Only rub that I actually substitute time to time on beef other just S&P which a steak just needs.

Sounds like you got it down. Personally, I think if you really want to improve on your current reverse sear, consider working in a flat searing surface like ssv3 is recommending. I use a soapstone with ghee in my Kamado Joe and it takes steaks to a whole new level. Lots of folks use CI as well.