MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 06-03-2013, 11:19 AM   #1
Velox
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

Default New Member, New ECB Build

Hey Everyone, I'm new to the boards here and thought you could help me with a question I have.

I'm new to BBQ on anything besides burgers, steaks and the occasional chicken breast on my Weber Grill. I also live in Long Island, NY so it's not easy to get really good BBQ around here. I'd like to branch out into smoking some meats and the opportunity presented itself when I was able to acquire a brand new Brinkmann Smoke n' Grill at no cost. I started investigating everyones ECB mods and decided to try some of that myself. I will be increasing the airflow on the coal pan by drilling holes, raising up the coals via grill grate and adding the Brinkmann Lava pan as many have suggested. I will also add the fiberglass rope to help seal the lid, as well as add Kettle dampers to the lid and Lava pan. My question is with the Temperature gauge. I've seen some people mount it on the lid, while others mount it on the side, between the 2 grills. Any reasoning as to one over the other?

Anyone have any other suggestions as to mods? Should I add anything else? Avoid what I am planning?

I'll post some pics once my parts arrive and I start modding.

Thanks in advance for any tips you can provide.
Velox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-03-2013, 11:26 AM   #2
hamiltont
is One Chatty Farker

Name/Nickname : hamiltont