Fat Cap side UP AFTER smoking?

zachg18

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
So I tend to smoke brisket fat side down on my WSM

And I'm wondering if I have made a really dumb mistake all this time...

Should I be flipping it fat side UP after I take it off the smoker? To let some of those juices drip into the other part of the flat and maybe soften the bark a bit?

I've always thought the bark was maybe a bit too tough sometimes..

Probably makes for better presentation also

If you listen to Franklin or Myron, it really doesn't matter. There seems to be a friendly debate amongst comp folks which way is best. I've tried both and haven't seen a difference. I'm also not an expert. My briskies cap out at "decent" not "awesome". I'm trusting the guys that do hundreds of them a year here.

Fat cap should go to whatever direction your heat comes from to protect it. If it is a water cooker and comes from the bottom, then fat side down. If it is a cooker where it heats from the top down, fat side up. Either way, the rendered fat on the outside is going to run off and not into the brisket.

Right....

I'm specifically talking about after i remove it from the smoker and I am letting it rest...

Sorry, maybe should have been more clear with that in the title...

Right....

I'm specifically talking about after i remove it from the smoker and I am letting it rest...

Sorry, maybe should have been more clear with that in the title...

Ah, well sometimes I'm a little dense....

I like the fat side up when slicing. Also, on the WSM I cook mostly fat side down until I wrap with butcher paper. Then I go fat side up. If you stay fat down the rendered fat can stick to the paper and you'll pull it off unwrapping.

I like the fat side up when slicing. Also, on the WSM I cook mostly fat side down until I wrap with butcher paper. Then I go fat side up. If you stay fat down the rendered fat can stick to the paper and you'll pull it off unwrapping.

Good point! Didn't think of that!