Question from a newbie

J

JRB

I have a master built electric smoker, and when I smoke a butt, I do not get very dark bark on the butt. Is this because it is an electric smoker? Is it because I use a water pan? I typically smoke the butts around 230 degrees, I get good flavor but I don't typically get a smoke ring, or it is faint. The rub I use does not have brown sugar in it. I did one last Saturday rubbed with a brown sugar rub, and still not very much bark.

Any thoughts?

Clueless in Vancouver....

First, let me say I don't have any experience with a Masterbuilt.

The bark is a result of caramelizing the rub, so it is a bit of trial and error to determine which cooking temperature will yield the best results for any given meat/rub combination. The darkness generally comes from the fuel source - cleaner burning cookers don't color up as dark as other cookers.

Experiment a little bit by cooking smaller sections of butt with different meat/rub combinations. You may stumble upon something that really works well for you.

Best of luck and welcome to The Brethren!!

There will be a difference in your bark compared to charcoal, wood and pellets. I am not sure why but electric smokers do not produce good bark or a smoke ring that is pronounced. If you are getting the flavor you want then you are doing well.

If you want a dark bark put some Wegmans AJ on it. But seriously, you could try adding some white sugar to your rub. The water pan could be part of the issue too. Have you tried removing the water pan for the last hour or so of cooking? You need to get some heat on the outside of the butt to caramelize the rub and proteins in the surface of the meat. Dry heat works best for that.

Dear Clueless: Do you have a small smoker box in the bottom of your smoker? You didn't say anything about what smoke u use.